TENZ Awards

TENZ Awards

The TENZ National Council awards teachers and teacher educators for excellence in and contribution to technology education.

Calls for nominations are made in each national conference year. Nominations are accepted from current members and recipients must be TENZ members. Nominations are considered by a committee established by the TENZ National Council and the decisions made referred to the full Council for ratification.

The council makes awards in the following areas:

Outstanding Teacher in Technology Education Award

This award is made to teachers who have displayed outstanding capability in teaching technology over a period of time. They may be a coordinator or Head of Department or those not holding such positions but consistently displaying excellence in their teaching practice.

  1. Ceri de Boo, Cashmere High School
  1. Kylie Merrick, Wellington High School
  1. Bill Collis, Mount Roskill Grammar School, Auckland
    Jenny Baker, Hillcrest High School, Hamilton 
    Jo Clarke, St. Michael's Church School, Christchurch
  1. Barbara Knight, Queen Margaret College, Wellington
    Steve Andrew, St John's College, Hamilton
  1. Diana Eagle, Tararua College, Pahiatua
  1. Marilyn Daly, Rangikura Primary School, Porirua 
    Michael Jackson, Wanganui Girls' College
    Carol Rimmer, Havelock North High School

Teacher Educator in Technology Education Award

This award is made to lecturers, advisors, facilitators, consultants or teachers for their service to teacher development work in technology education. The category is for high quality work that has developed teacher understanding and confidence over a significant period of time in pre-service and/or in-service training.

  1. Kerry Lee, University of Auckland
  1. Neville Myers, University of Canterbury
    Paul Neveldsen, Auckland University
  1. Selina Hinchco, Team Solutions, University of Auckland
    Moira Patterson, Faculty of Education, University of Auckland
  1. Cheryl Pym, University of Otago, Dunedin
    Paul Snape, Canterbury University, Christchurch
  1. Dawn Coburn, College of Education, University of Otago
  1. Kris Blewett, Faculty of Education, University of Auckland
    Brent Mawson, Faculty of Education, University of Auckland

Subject Leadership in Technology Education Award

This award recognises excellence in subject leadership. It is made for a significant contribution over a period of time in developing technology education programmes in a school or organisation and achieving consistently high standards of performance from students.

  1. Marietjie van Schalkwyk, Wellington High School
  1. Tricia Winter, Queen Charlotte College, Picton
  1. Julie McMahon, Columba College 
    Lorraine Stiles, Matamata Intermediate School
  1. Brian Allen, Correspondence School, Wellington
    Ross Petersen, ETITO
  1. Kay Collins, Marlborough Technology Centre
  1. Grant Miles, Christchurch College of Education
    Marion Douglas, Team Solutions Auckland

Outstanding Contribution to Technology Education Award

This is the highest professional award made by TENZ. Those nominated may come from a school management, advisory, lecturing, teaching, research, curriculum development, administration or 'industry' background. Recipients will have given service to technology education over a long period of time and made an outstanding contribution, showing commitment and leadership.

  1. Dr Wendy Fox-Turnbull, University of Canterbury
    Alister Jones, University of Waikato
  1. Dr Vicki Compton, UniServices, University of Auckland
    Niall Dinning, National Co-ordinator for Technology Education, Ministry of Education
    Glynn McGregor, Project Coordinator (Techlink), IPENZ
  1. Emeritus Professor Roy Geddes, University of Auckland and Auckland University of Technology
    Peter Spratt, Manager of Education Programmes, The Royal Society of New Zealand
  1. Cliff Harwood, Massey University College of Education

Research Award in Technology

This award recognises excellence in research in Technology education. It is awarded for a piece of outstanding scholarly research in the field of Technology education and related areas, and for high quality work that has developed teacher understanding and confidence in Technology education over a significant period of time. Recipients of this award are asked to submit a manuscript of their work to the Australasian Journal of Technology Education. 

  1. Dr John Williams, University of Waikato 
    Bev France, Faculty of Education and Social Work, University of Auckland